Physiotherapy (1st Cycle)

Study programme 1st cycle

Physiotherapy is a science which deals with the development, maintenance and recovery of optimal movement and functional abilities in individuals at all stages of life.

The NEW 1st-cycle university study programme of Physiotherapy at the Faculty of Health Sciences of the University of Primorska has been prepared following the WCPT (World Confederation for Physical Therapy) educational guidelines. Its carefully designed structure provides students with the knowledge and skills from the three core thematic pillars, namely the musculoskeletal, internal / cardio-respiratory and neurological.

A physiotherapist is a healthcare professional working at the primary, secondary and tertiary levels of healthcare and wellness. Practising this profession requires a university or higher education degree, awarded upon completion of an education and training programme lasting at least three years. The graduate must complete an internship and pass a professional examination for healthcare professionals.

The study programme in Physiotherapy is based on population trends of the western world and new trends in the physiotherapy profession.

Professional title

Diplomirani fizioterapevt (UN) / Diplomirana fizioterapevtka (UN) – (dipl. fiziot.)


Admission Requirements

To enrol in the 1st year of the study programme in Physiotherapy, one needs to:

  1. a) have passed the general upper secondary school-leaving external examination (i.e. the matura [term used hereafter]); or
  2. b) have passed the vocational matura and the examination in the matura subject Biology or Physics. If the candidate has already fulfilled the course requirements for this subject within the vocational matura, a pass is required in any matura subject; or
  3. c) have completed any four-year secondary-school programme before 1 June 1995.

Selected candidates will be required to submit a medical certificate of medical fitness to perform the work of health care providers. This certificate is issued by an occupational health doctor (referral for a preliminary medical examination, form: DZS 8.203). Due to specific conditions and restrictions, students are required to be of good physical and mental health. In case of doubt, the competent committee shall make a final decision.

If enrolment is to be restricted, the candidates will be selected based on the following criteria:

For candidates under a):

  1. Overall achievement in the matura examination (70%);
  2. Overall achievement in the 3rd and 4th years of secondary school (30%);

For candidates under b):

  1. Overall achievement in the vocational matura examination (40%);
  2. Overall achievement in the 3rd and 4th years of secondary school (30%);
  3. Grade in the matura subject (30%);

For candidates under c):

  1. Overall achievement in the final examination (70%);
  2. Overall achievement in the 3rd and 4th years of secondary school (30%).

Advancement Requirements:

A student may progress to the next year of their studies if by the end of the academic year they have fulfilled all obligations prescribed by the study programme for the previous year.

To advance to the next year of the programme, students are required to complete all the prescribed practical training obligations in all courses of the previous year, as well as in clinical training.

To proceed to Year 2 of the programme, students must earn a total of 48 ECTS credits, of which the following subjects are mandatory:

  1. a) Anatomy – 6 ECTS credits,
  2. b) Physiology – 6 ECTS credits,
  3. c) Biomechanics – 6 ECTS credits,
  4. d) Assessment Methods in Physiotherapy – 9 ECTS credits,
  5. e) Functional Anatomy and Movement – 3 ECTS credits.

To enter into Year 3 of the programme, the student must pass all the examinations of Year 1 in the amount of 60 ECTS, and 42 ECTS from the subjects of the 2nd year, of which the following subjects are mandatory:

  1. a) Orthopedics – in the amount of 6 ECTS credits,
  2. b) Neurology and Neuropathology – 6 ECTS credits,
  3. c) Clinical Medicine – 6 ECTS credits,
  4. d) Neuro-Physiotherapy – 6 ECTS credits,
  5. e) Cardiorespiratory Physiotherapy – 6 ECTS credits.